The foundation is grateful to all these individuals who donate their expertise and time, without compensation, as our science advisory board members. This group of individuals ensures that the foundation’s science-based direction is appropriate when considering both public health issues and information that we disseminate in the patient and treatment arena. Their oversight monitors our content and sees that it is scientifically accurate and contemporaneous. They also are consulted when the foundation issues its research grants.

If you are interested in assisting the foundation as a science advisor or as a member of our general advisory board (this advisory group is formed from non-doctors) please get in touch with Executive Director Brian Hill.

Michael C. Alfano, DMD, Ph.D

  • Executive Vice President, New York University (Retired)
  • Former Dean, New York University, College of Dentistry
  • Founding member Santa Fe Group Dental Think Tank

William B. Armstrong, M.D.

  • Associate Professor of Clinical Otolaryngology
  • Vice Chair Department Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
  • University of California, Irvine
  • Chosen, Best Doctors in America 2007 (Physician-based survey)

John Beumer III, DDS, M.S.

  • Chair and Professor
  • Division of Advanced Prosthodontics, Biomaterials, and Hospital Dentistry
  • The Weintraub Center for Reconstructive Biotechnology, UCLA School of Dentistry

David L. Callender, MD, MBA, FACS

  • President, The University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Former Vice Chancellor, UCLA Hospital System
  • Former Chief of Medicine, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Mark D. DeLacure, MD, FACS

  • Chief, Division of Head & Neck Surgery and Oncology
  • Department of Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery
  • Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery
  • Institute of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery, Department of Surgery
  • New York University School of Medicine / NYU Clinical Cancer Center

Gypsyamber D’Souza, PhD

  • Associate Professor
  • Department of Epidemiology
  • Cancer Prevention & Control Program
  • Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Baltimore, Maryland

Joel Epstein DMD, MSD, FRCD(C), FDS RCS(Edin)

  • Diplomat, American Board of Oral Medicine
  • Consulting Staff, Division of Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery
  • City of Hope Cancer Center

Carole Fakhry MD, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
  • Department of Epidemiology,
  • Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Johns Hopkins Cancer Center

Maura L. Gillison, MD, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Thoracic/Head and Neck Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine,
  • The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
  • Former Professor of Internal Medicine & Epidemiology, Johns Hopkins University

Kate Hutcheson PhD

  • Associate Professor
  • Department of Head and Neck Surgery
  • Section of Speech Pathology & Audiology
  • MD Anderson Cancer Center

Alice Horowitz

  • Research Associate Professor
  • School of Public Health, University of Maryland
  • Former Senior Scientist, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Dennis H. Kraus MD

  • Director, The Center for Head & Neck Oncology,
  • Co-Director, The Center for Thyroid & Parathyroid Surgery
  • New York Head & Neck Institute
  • Former Director, Speech and Hearing Center
  • Associate Attending Surgeon of Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Aimée R. Kreimer, PhD

  • Investigator, Infections & Immunoepidemiology Branch
  • Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
  • National Institutes of Health, The National Cancer Institute

A. Ross Kerr DMD

  • Clinical Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Radiology and Medicine
  • New York University College of Dentistry
  • Former President, American Academy of Oral Medicine
  • Diplomat, American Board of Oral Medicine, Chair, Oral Cancer Task Force

Mark W. Lingen DDS, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Pathology
  • Member, Committee on Cancer Biology, Committee on Molecular Medicine
  • Senior Researcher, Tumor Angiogenesis, Tumor Suppressor Gene Biology, and Molecular Diagnostics
  • The University of Chicago, Medicine

Dr. Niven Narain

  • NASA/Gene Lab Steering Committee
  • Advisor to US Department of Defense leadership on breast and prostate cancer.
  • Advisory Board of Petrie-Flom Center for Health Law Policy,
  • Biotechnology and Bioethics at Harvard Law School
  • Healthy Aging Initiative Commission at No. 10 for the UK prime minister.

Nelson Rhodus DMD, MPH

  • Professor and Director, Division of Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota
  • Former President,  Diplomat, American Academy of Oral Medicine
  • Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Otolaryngology, School of Medicine
  • Academy of Distinguished Teachers
  • President, American Association of University Professors / University of Minnesota

James J. Sciubba, DMD, PhD

  • Professor, (Ret.)
  • The Milton J. Dance Head & Neck Center
  • The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Crispian Scully MD

  • President International Academy of Oral Oncology
  • Director of Special Projects UCL-EDI; Professor of Special Care Dentistry
  • Chair of Division of Maxillofacial Diagnostic, Medical and Surgical